Questions about definitions

Have a rules question? Search past discussions or post yours here!

Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue May 02, 2017 4:13 am

1.Shade Viper
from War of Shadows
What's the definition of Trophy Monster's [Trophy]? Player can only activate one [Trophy] effect at a time, or both?

Example:
Controlling [Shade Converter] and other 3 Mechana Constructs while it is Night. [Shade Viper] provides 1 Rune or 1 Power or both? (Choose one to activate or both?)

2.Wandering Askara
from Immortal Heroes
What's the definition of [have played]? Are "have played cards" refering to those still remain in front of a player, or all cards that have played this turn wherever they are?

Example:
Since Empower cannot affect cards removed from the front of a player,
how would Multi-Unite work? Would it count those two cards(banished [Wandering Askara]) in?
And how about copy effects? Would it be able to copy a banished Wandering Askara?
JasonTime
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby Huuuze » Tue May 02, 2017 12:18 pm

JasonTime wrote:1.Shade Viper
from War of Shadows
What's the definition of Trophy Monster's [Trophy]? Player can only activate one [Trophy] effect at a time, or both?
Example:
Controlling [Shade Converter] and other 3 Mechana Constructs while it is Night. [Shade Viper] provides 1 Rune or 1 Power or both? (Choose one to activate or both?)

The "trophy" is the effect listed as "Trophy". If the game state is "Day", activate the "Day" trophy. If the game state is "Night", activate the "Night" trophy. If Shade Converter's effect is in play, you trigger both.

JasonTime wrote:2.Wandering Askara
from Immortal Heroes
What's the definition of [have played]? Are "have played cards" refering to those still remain in front of a player, or all cards that have played this turn wherever they are?

"have played cards" are cards you have played on your turn. If you play a card with that effect, you can look at cards played earlier in your turn (a.k.a., cards you have played) and they have remained in play.

JasonTime wrote:Example:
Since Empower cannot affect cards removed from the front of a player,
how would Multi-Unite work? Would it count those two cards(banished [Wandering Askara]) in?

No, you cannot Multi-Unite off of a banished card.You can Unite (and Multi-Unite) off of a banished card.

JasonTime wrote:And how about copy effects? Would it be able to copy a banished Wandering Askara?

It would depend on the text. In general, you cannot copy a banished card.
Visit Ascension Fans on Facebook for all of the latest Ascension information!
User avatar
Huuuze
 
Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:43 am
Playdek ID: Huuuze

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue May 02, 2017 1:23 pm

Huuuze wrote:
JasonTime wrote:1.Shade Viper
from War of Shadows
What's the definition of Trophy Monster's [Trophy]? Player can only activate one [Trophy] effect at a time, or both?
Example:
Controlling [Shade Converter] and other 3 Mechana Constructs while it is Night. [Shade Viper] provides 1 Rune or 1 Power or both? (Choose one to activate or both?)

The "trophy" is the effect listed as "Trophy". If the game state is "Day", activate the "Day" trophy. If the game state is "Night", activate the "Night" trophy. If Shade Converter's effect is in play, you trigger both.

JasonTime wrote:2.Wandering Askara
from Immortal Heroes
What's the definition of [have played]? Are "have played cards" refering to those still remain in front of a player, or all cards that have played this turn wherever they are?

"have played cards" are cards you have played on your turn. If you play a card with that effect, you can look at cards played earlier in your turn (a.k.a., cards you have played) and they have remained in play.

JasonTime wrote:Example:
Since Empower cannot affect cards removed from the front of a player,
how would Multi-Unite work? Would it count those two cards(banished [Wandering Askara]) in?

No, you cannot Multi-Unite off of a banished card.

JasonTime wrote:And how about copy effects? Would it be able to copy a banished Wandering Askara?

The same. You cannot copy a banished card.


Understood! Thanks!
JasonTime
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby Huuuze » Thu May 04, 2017 10:15 pm

So, I double-checked on this one and you CAN Unite (or Multi-Unite) off of a banished card. Apologies for the confusion. It felt dirty...because it is! :)
Visit Ascension Fans on Facebook for all of the latest Ascension information!
User avatar
Huuuze
 
Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:43 am
Playdek ID: Huuuze

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Huuuze wrote:So, I double-checked on this one and you CAN Unite (or Multi-Unite) off of a banished card. Apologies for the confusion. It felt dirty...because it is! :)


I see... Am I too late for the reply :?
JasonTime
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:41 pm

Huuuze wrote:So, I double-checked on this one and you CAN Unite (or Multi-Unite) off of a banished card. Apologies for the confusion. It felt dirty...because it is! :)


A new question... How about Isla, Serene Prodigy vs have played?

I think it would be:
Copy: yes
Multi-Unite: yes
Empower: no

Is that right?
JasonTime
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby Huuuze » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:09 am

JasonTime wrote:Is that right?

Yes.
Visit Ascension Fans on Facebook for all of the latest Ascension information!
User avatar
Huuuze
 
Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:43 am
Playdek ID: Huuuze

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:52 am

Huuuze wrote:
JasonTime wrote:Is that right?

Yes.


Got it! Many thanks :)
JasonTime
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm


Return to Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests