Page 1 of 1

Whirlwind Ascetic

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:17 pm
by ChadrockTheGodslayer
When Whirlwind Ascetic emphasizes "AND" in the phrase "a Mystic AND a Heavy Infantry" does that mean that I have to discard both to get the bonus? For instance, if I discard a Heavy Infantry and an Apprentice, do I get to return the Heavy Infantry to my hand?

Re: Whirlwind Ascetic

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:53 pm
by Hemka
Whirlwind Ascetic, Enlightened Hero. "Draw three cards, then discard two cards. You may return a Mystic AND a Heavy Infantry discarded this way to your hand."

I have been playing it that you must discard a mystic and a heavy to be able to put any cards back in your hand. If that wasn't the case it would probably say and/or and wouldn't need to emphasize the word "and". Same with the Pillars of Resolve from WoS emphasizing the word "and" to make it clear both cards need to happen.

Re: Whirlwind Ascetic

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 12:46 am
by Huuuze
Hemka wrote:I have been playing it that you must discard a mystic and a heavy to be able to put any cards back in your hand.

100% correct. I posted this on the GotE FAQ on Facebook.