Questions about definitions

Have a rules question? Search past discussions or post yours here!

Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue May 02, 2017 4:13 am

1.Shade Viper
from War of Shadows
What's the definition of Trophy Monster's [Trophy]? Player can only activate one [Trophy] effect at a time, or both?

Example:
Controlling [Shade Converter] and other 3 Mechana Constructs while it is Night. [Shade Viper] provides 1 Rune or 1 Power or both? (Choose one to activate or both?)

2.Wandering Askara
from Immortal Heroes
What's the definition of [have played]? Are "have played cards" refering to those still remain in front of a player, or all cards that have played this turn wherever they are?

Example:
Since Empower cannot affect cards removed from the front of a player,
how would Multi-Unite work? Would it count those two cards(banished [Wandering Askara]) in?
And how about copy effects? Would it be able to copy a banished Wandering Askara?
JasonTime
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby Huuuze » Tue May 02, 2017 12:18 pm

JasonTime wrote:1.Shade Viper
from War of Shadows
What's the definition of Trophy Monster's [Trophy]? Player can only activate one [Trophy] effect at a time, or both?
Example:
Controlling [Shade Converter] and other 3 Mechana Constructs while it is Night. [Shade Viper] provides 1 Rune or 1 Power or both? (Choose one to activate or both?)

The "trophy" is the effect listed as "Trophy". If the game state is "Day", activate the "Day" trophy. If the game state is "Night", activate the "Night" trophy. If Shade Converter's effect is in play, you trigger both.

JasonTime wrote:2.Wandering Askara
from Immortal Heroes
What's the definition of [have played]? Are "have played cards" refering to those still remain in front of a player, or all cards that have played this turn wherever they are?

"have played cards" are cards you have played on your turn. If you play a card with that effect, you can look at cards played earlier in your turn (a.k.a., cards you have played) and they have remained in play.

JasonTime wrote:Example:
Since Empower cannot affect cards removed from the front of a player,
how would Multi-Unite work? Would it count those two cards(banished [Wandering Askara]) in?

No, you cannot Multi-Unite off of a banished card.You can Unite (and Multi-Unite) off of a banished card.

JasonTime wrote:And how about copy effects? Would it be able to copy a banished Wandering Askara?

It would depend on the text. In general, you cannot copy a banished card.
Visit Ascension Fans on Facebook for all of the latest Ascension information!
User avatar
Huuuze
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:43 am
Playdek ID: Huuuze

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue May 02, 2017 1:23 pm

Huuuze wrote:
JasonTime wrote:1.Shade Viper
from War of Shadows
What's the definition of Trophy Monster's [Trophy]? Player can only activate one [Trophy] effect at a time, or both?
Example:
Controlling [Shade Converter] and other 3 Mechana Constructs while it is Night. [Shade Viper] provides 1 Rune or 1 Power or both? (Choose one to activate or both?)

The "trophy" is the effect listed as "Trophy". If the game state is "Day", activate the "Day" trophy. If the game state is "Night", activate the "Night" trophy. If Shade Converter's effect is in play, you trigger both.

JasonTime wrote:2.Wandering Askara
from Immortal Heroes
What's the definition of [have played]? Are "have played cards" refering to those still remain in front of a player, or all cards that have played this turn wherever they are?

"have played cards" are cards you have played on your turn. If you play a card with that effect, you can look at cards played earlier in your turn (a.k.a., cards you have played) and they have remained in play.

JasonTime wrote:Example:
Since Empower cannot affect cards removed from the front of a player,
how would Multi-Unite work? Would it count those two cards(banished [Wandering Askara]) in?

No, you cannot Multi-Unite off of a banished card.

JasonTime wrote:And how about copy effects? Would it be able to copy a banished Wandering Askara?

The same. You cannot copy a banished card.


Understood! Thanks!
JasonTime
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby Huuuze » Thu May 04, 2017 10:15 pm

So, I double-checked on this one and you CAN Unite (or Multi-Unite) off of a banished card. Apologies for the confusion. It felt dirty...because it is! :)
Visit Ascension Fans on Facebook for all of the latest Ascension information!
User avatar
Huuuze
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:43 am
Playdek ID: Huuuze

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Huuuze wrote:So, I double-checked on this one and you CAN Unite (or Multi-Unite) off of a banished card. Apologies for the confusion. It felt dirty...because it is! :)


I see... Am I too late for the reply :?
JasonTime
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:41 pm

Huuuze wrote:So, I double-checked on this one and you CAN Unite (or Multi-Unite) off of a banished card. Apologies for the confusion. It felt dirty...because it is! :)


A new question... How about Isla, Serene Prodigy vs have played?

I think it would be:
Copy: yes
Multi-Unite: yes
Empower: no

Is that right?
JasonTime
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby Huuuze » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:09 am

JasonTime wrote:Is that right?

Yes.
Visit Ascension Fans on Facebook for all of the latest Ascension information!
User avatar
Huuuze
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:43 am
Playdek ID: Huuuze

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:52 am

Huuuze wrote:
JasonTime wrote:Is that right?

Yes.


Got it! Many thanks :)
JasonTime
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby JasonTime » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:43 am

Huuuze wrote:It would depend on the text. In general, you cannot copy a banished card.


I did several experiments on APP and I found that you can copy a banished card...
JasonTime
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Questions about definitions

Postby turtler7 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:35 pm

Copies usually say "copy the effect of a hero played this turn" which regardless of what happened to it after it hit your play area is still a hero you played this turn making them a valid target for a copy. If you copy a wandering askara played earlier in the turn, you can then setoff the extra turn effect by banishing your COPY card (not the virtual effect it copied as the text effect is now considered to be the text effect of the card that did the copying) and the first wandering askara as the text on the second one says "if you have played another wandering askara" (ignore that the copy card isn't actually a wandering askara and the word another seems misleading) "you may banish both cards" (doesn't use its name so seems fair game for the copy card to banish itself to get the rest of the effect).

I have no confirmed but would be interested to know what the app does if you have two wandering askaras, banish them both, then play a daybreak askara to get an x2 copy of the original now gone one. The first copy does see a wandering askara was played so allows the both banish option, but one is no longer available to banish so shouldn't be fair game anymore. The second copy sees the same but might also see the first copy as a 2nd banishable (even though it is really a single card with the text twice). Would the app give you two more turns in a row (the original set turn and the double copy as a single extra turn set) or three more turns (the original set, the first copy banish, the second copy banish despite no new cards actually being banished) or would it do only one extra turn from the original and doesn't allow the copies to gain an extra turn since only one actual card is not yet banished.
turtler7
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 11:07 am
Location: Columbus, OH
Playdek ID: turtler7

Next

Return to Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests